About Forgive & Live

Forgive & LiveForgive and Live is a Bible study designed to be done in a group setting with each group member committed to doing homework daily. An introductory meeting is included to cover confidentiality, group covenant, when the group will become closed to others, etc. It will also provide an introduction to the foundations of forgiveness, such as a definition of forgiveness, what we forgive, and forgiveness as an event or process.  Click here to learn about the author of Forgive & Live.

An overview of each chapter is as follows:

Chapter 1 – What happens when we don’t forgive?

This chapter highlights the root issues and consequences of unforgiveness.

Chapter 2 – Restoration
This chapter defines repentance and gives a biblical picture of restoration in the life of Joseph.

Chapter 3 – Boundaries
This chapter covers the biblical concept of boundaries and involves a study of David and Saul.

Chapter 4 – Anger
The first step in the forgiveness process is introduced in this chapter, as well as an in-depth study on anger, the root causes and practical steps to freedom from anger.

Chapter 5 – Forgiving God – Things We Blame God For
Forgiving God has become popular counsel but is not biblical. However, negative feelings towards God is an issue for many people. This chapter expounds on anger toward God and the solution to that anger.

Chapter 6 – Forgiving Ourselves
Another popular but not biblical counsel is forgiving ourselves. Many people are plagued with guilty feelings even though they have asked for God’s forgiveness numerous times. This chapter explains the root issues of guilt, the difference between guilt and conviction and how to live a guilt-free life.

Chapter 7 – Seeking God’s Forgiveness
The second step in the forgiveness process is to take responsibility for our own actions and wrong-doing. This chapter helps to reveal our part in the interaction with our offender or our wrong reaction to the offense.

Chapter 8 – Becoming Other-Centered
The third step of forgiveness is found in leaving behind the introspection and turning the focus to others around us. This chapter highlights the need to remember that we are on the same level as our offender.

Chapter 9 – Forsaking Revenge
Revenge towards our offender can come in many forms, from blatant to seemingly very innocent. This chapter exposes the fourth step of forsaking revenge and explains righteous anger.

Chapter 10 – Desiring God’s Best
This chapter covers the fifth step in the process of beginning to desire God’s best for our offender, which is a right relationship with God first and then a right relationship with other humans.

Chapter 11 – Confronting the Believer
This chapter investigates the motive for confrontation and gives a checklist to evaluate where one is in the forgiveness process. It also includes practical suggestions for confronting believers.

Chapter 12 – Confronting the Unbeliever
This chapter differentiates between confronting believers and unbelievers. Included are sections on justice and when to take others to court.